CLOSE
  • No Content in Report

View Custom Report

Navigation
GoTopeka » Staff » Jackie Steele

Staff

Jackie Steele

Vice President of Business Retention and Expansion

jsteele@gotopeka.com
785.231.6029

Jackie Steele joined the GO Topeka team in August 2016 as the director of business retention and expansion. She brings a love of historic buildings, a faint northern Iowa accent and more than 10 years of experience in community and economic development. Jackie has worked in both the public and private sectors, including several years at a civil engineering firm where she learned more about infrastructure than she ever wanted to know. Before she joined the GO Topeka team, Jackie held business retention positions at the Wyandotte Economic Development Council and the City of Riverside, Missouri. She is excited to learn more about Topeka-Shawnee County’s business citizens and work to make the area’s business climate even better.

What “lesson from mom” do you still live by today?

I still strive to live by “It is the smart kids who ask questions.” Nothing clarifies like clarity. It’s been my experience that it’s better to ask the question and gain knowledge than to try and move forward while things are unclear.

If money was no object, what would you do all day?

If I won the lottery, I’d spend my time rehabbing historic structures. I’m enthralled by the character, craftsmanship and love that went into building older structures. My childhood home was a catalog house that was brought in on the train in the early 1900s. I loved the front porch, big windows and pocket doors.

What’s the most unusual place you have visited? 

I did a whirlwind eight-day trip to China. The group visited four different cities and saw so many amazing sites. One of the most memorable moments was having my photo taken nearly 30 times with different groups of Chinese tourists at the Great Wall because apparently they thought I was an American movie star.

If you could spend a week anywhere in the world, where would it be? 

If I could spend a week anywhere in the world, it would be Bora Bora. I love warm weather and the ocean and I have no problem just lounging on the beach and swimming in the ocean for the entire day. Unfortunately, my fiancé doesn’t go in the ocean past his ankles so I’ll be swimming by myself.

Jackie
NewMattPivarnik

Matt Pivarnik

President and CEO


mpivarnik@greatertopeka.org

785.231.6023

GWashington

Glenda Washington

Vice President of Entrepreneurial and Minority Business Development


gwashington@gotopeka.com

785.231.6048

NewMollyHowey

Molly Howey

Senior Vice President of Economic Development


mhowey@gotopeka.com

785.231.6040

NewBarbaraStapleton

Barbara Stapleton

Vice President of Workforce and Education


bstapleton@gotopeka.com

785.231.6065

Jackie

Jackie Steele

Vice President of Business Retention and Expansion


jsteele@gotopeka.com

785.231.6029

Mary

Mary Hill

Executive Assistant


mhill@gotopeka.com

785.231.6032

NewMattLara

Matthew Lara

Communications Specialist


mlara@gotopeka.com

785.231.6052

NewMaryAnnAnderson

Mary Ann Anderson

Assistant Manager,
Entrepreneurial & Minority Business Development


manderson@gotopeka.com

785.231.6000

Freddy

Freddy Mawyin

Research Manager


fmawyin@gotopeka.com

785.231.6053

Kristi Dunn

Kristi Dunn

PTAC SubCenter Director


kdunn@gotopeka.com

785.231.6026